10g not available on all flavors of Vista

According to this “Statement of Direction“, current plan calls for 32-bit 10gR2 available only for Vista Business, Ultimate and Enterprise Edition.
I guess Microsoft has put Oracle in a hard position by bringing out ridiculous various flavors. But Vista Home, basic and premium, may not be able to install 10g at all.
I am wondering about the XE. I haven’t tried myself, but some claimed to have installed XE on Vista Home.
PS: In response to APC’s comment, I tried XE on Vista Hom Basic and it works.

8 Responses to “10g not available on all flavors of Vista”

  1. APC Says:

    But this is just the same as previous versions of Windows. Oracle DB server has only ever been certified on the Professional editions, never the Home flavours. Certainly I failed to install Oracle 9i on XP Home edition, although I have heard anecdotally that others have succeeed.

    However I do agree that given the target audience for XE it is peculiar decision for Oracle *not* to make it run on every version of Vista.

    Cheers, APC

  2. DJ Says:

    I actually tried XE on vista home basic and it works.

  3. D. Soundararajan Says:

    I am trying to install Oracle XE in vista home, but not able to install, Getting the error not compatible for this version of windows. Any help to install xe in vista home basic is appreciable.

  4. Dong Says:

    D. Soundararajan,

    Make sure you used a file named OracleXEUniv.exe to install, i.e., Oracle XE. When I tried the full-fledged Oracle which is a setup.exe file and uses Java GUI, I got compatibility errors too. But when I used OracleXEUniv.exe which is based on InstallShield, I don’t have any problems.

    Good luck,

  5. son Says:

    while i was installing oracle db 10g it appared an error message of unknown support file and there are 3 unknow file appared like this

    “unknow”
    “unknow”
    “unknow”

  6. Leonard Says:

    Because the admin of this web page is working, no doubt very rapidly it will be renowned,
    due to its quality contents.

  7. lovelymatures Says:

    Your means of telling everything in this post is genuinely nice, every one be capable of simply understand it, Thanks a lot.

  8. Skip Navigation Says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

